Reviews

Currently achieving a score of 9.4 and rated as 'Superb' by our guests on Booking.com

 
 

Currently achieving a score of 9.4 and rated as 'Superb' by our guests on Booking.com

 
 

Wonderful warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Sandra and John were so lovely, nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and spotless and so cosy with underfloor heating. The breakfast was delicious with my favourite, fresh fruit salad and yoghurt and the full English was of a first rate quality and beautifully cooked.

Reviewer:Honor B | Mon 16th Mar 2020 | 2 weeks ago


Overnight stay in Totness - Rating 5/5

We were visiting the Sharpham Trust site and needed overnight accomodation for one night. The accomodation was excellent! Very helpful introduction providing us with info on restaurants bars etc plus facilities available in B&B. Very ggod location 10 mmins walk from top of high street, good carparking. Excellent breakfast and again just enough interaction to make us feel welcome without overdoing. Thoroughly recomment Great Grubb and Totnes!

Reviewer:Tom M | Mon 9th Mar 2020 | 3 weeks ago


Super clean and welcoming - Rating 5/5

I only stayed here for a night but i have to say i was very impressed. There is a high standard for cleanliness! Sparkling clean bathroom and shower, toilet, new carpet. There was no sign of dust anywhere not even under the bed. The hosts are super welcoming and friendly. Place issuper cute and there is attention to detail. Breakfast is great and there is flexibility with what you can choose. The Great Grubb is also at a very nice location, quiet and close to the centre. I highly recommend this place and i will definitely be going back.

Reviewer:Basia A | Sat 7th Mar 2020 | 3 weeks ago


Friendly and welcoming B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B. Owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Room was bright. Fantastic shower and even better breakfast.

Reviewer:Jo H | Mon 2nd Mar 2020 | 4 weeks ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

I really liked this B&B and the hosts were charming and helpful. I had a problem with heating in my room, but I’m sure it was a one off and they were mortified and couldn’t do enough to make up for it!The breakfast was superb and I have already recommended this place to friends who want somewhere to stay later in the year.

Reviewer:Sally D | Sat 29th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Perfect for a good nights sleep- Rating 5/5

Perfect comfortable nights stay. John &Sandra are welcoming and perfect hosts. You feel at home from the moment you enter without any invasion of privacy. Very comfortable clean room and shower. Excellent breakfast to start the day and a friendly farewell to send you on your way. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Dermot D | Thu 27th Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Great grubb- Rating 4/5

Hosts were very accommodating and welcoming. Room was clean and bed very comfortable giving a great nights sleep. I was travelling on business and this was a perfect location for me. Would definitely return.

Reviewer:John O | Fri 21st Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Enjoyable stay at Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay at this very clean and comfy B&B, made very welcome by John and Sandra, who provided local insight and great breakfasts

Reviewer:Dot L | Mon 3rd Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Warm Welcome and First Class Hosts - Rating 5/5

Sandra and John are fabulous hosts, prepared to go to any lengths to make sure their guests enjoy their stay.Everything from the friendly and informative welcome, ongoing willingness to assist and provide for any reasonable requests, 2 top notch breakfasts each morning and constant good humour, plus very good and clean accommodation ( Room 7) made our stay as good as it could possibly be. Thank you Anthony &Alison

Reviewer:Anthony B | Sun 2nd Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Super- Rating 5/5

Lovely people. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable. Excellent breakfast. I will definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Sarah C | Sat 1st Feb 2020 | 1 month ago


Warm & friendly - Rating 5/5

Well positioned for access to area. Comfortable homely accommodation. Thanks Sandra &John for making my stay so relaxed .

Reviewer:Jan L | Mon 20th Jan 2020 | 2 months ago


Excellent Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

I very much enjoyed staying at the Great Grubb. The hosts were welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent! Would be very happy to stay again

Reviewer:Patrick M | Tue 7th Jan 2020 | 2 months ago


Comfortable Room - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Great Grubb on Christmas Eve and had the superior king room with underfloor heating which was lovely.The owners were very accommodating and we were made to feel welcome even though they were cooking breakfast for us on Christmas morning!Will stay here again when visiting Totnes.Thankyou.

Reviewer:M | Fri 3rd Jan 2020 | 2 months ago


Warm and welcoming - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here a number of times both as a single female and together with my husband. At the Great Grubb B&B I am always certain of clean, comfortable accommodation and a delicious, well cooked breakfast with plenty of choice.However the icing on the cake are the hosts, so warm and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. It's like visiting old friends

Reviewer:Marion H | Tue 31st Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous B&B with very friendly owners - Rating 5/5

We came to stay as a family - 5 of us, all adults. 3 of us are vegetarians and 2 are vegans. We had a lovely stay in a very comfortable B&B - lovely beds to sleep in - and a most fantastic breakfast. Sandra and John went out of their way to give us a lovely stay and we enjoyed it thoroughly. A would thoroughly recommend The Great Grubb B&B.

Reviewer:Steve B | Mon 30th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


I give it 10 out of 5 stars - Rating 5/5

Actually even more stars than that. This is a BnB well above average. Sandra and John made me feel so welcome, as if I was one of the family, with extra little touches like Christmas cake and Prosecco and loans of walking boots and umbrella. The room was very cosy which was needed given the weather and there was no way I could eat all the delicious items on offer for breakfast. If you havent been here before, book today. It's very convenient for exploring the Elizabeth town centre and river, with plenty to keep you occupied in the surrounding area.

Reviewer:Brenda K | Sat 28th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Everything you would want - Rating 5/5

My room was immaculate and had facilities over and above what you would expect from a B&B. The warm and cosy rooms have Tea &Coffee making items, flat screen TV’s, hairdryers and plenty of storage space. The en suite bathroom was modern with great water pressure to the shower. In the dining room I was served a hearty breakfast that comprised a selection of cereals and yoghurts followed by a full English that kept me going for most of the day. This is all served with lots of tea or coffee together with buttered toast, marmalade and jams. The hosts, John and Sandra made my stay very enjoyable and I can highly recommend The Great Grubb to all who plan a stay in Totnes.

Reviewer:Ray H | Mon 23rd Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

A really good quality B&B.Excellent location.Very welcoming and helpful owners.Lovely breakfasts and a relaxed atmosphere.

Reviewer:James B | Thu 19th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Amazing Value - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean, very comfortable and homely with lovely extra touches:-Real coffee in the room!-The cooked breakfast was amazing sat in a lovely cosy conservatory.-there were also tons of other breakfast options including fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and cereals.-Hosts were really friendly and helpful but also allowed me to mind my own business.-selection of books and dvds- a ten minute walk in to Totnes town centre

Reviewer:Marion W | Tue 17th Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely three days at the Great Grubb.Excellent comfortable accommodation.Wonderful breakfasts and a warm welcome.Thank you.

Reviewer:Christopher H | Tue 3rd Dec 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

This wasn't our first visit to Great Grubb.Hosts Sandra and John are very hospitable.We were warm inside even though it was a very cold weekend.The room was clean and very comfortable, the breakfast as much as you want to eat.Thank you both for another very comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Sally R | Mon 2nd Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


Best Place Ever - Rating 5/5

Couldn't recommend staying here more. SO clean, SO friendly and perfect location between town and train station. Will be going back every time I am travelling again in the area :-)

Reviewer:Matt G | Fri 29th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for three nights. Lovely hosts who really make you feel welcome. Room was spotlessly clean with nice comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good. Would highly recommend staying here

Reviewer:Carol C | Tue 26th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Best B&B in Totnes - Rating 5/5

Best B&B in Totnes - we wont stay anywhere else

Reviewer:Martin B | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Single night- Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality. Hidden gem

Reviewer:Annie T | Sun 10th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Everything is great about the great grubb location facilities food and cleanliness. Not forgetting the wonderful owners John and Sandra. A must stay if your heading to totnes

Reviewer:Janet K | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Great as always - Rating 5/5

Not the first time we have stayed at The Great Grubb, but fabulous as always. Very friendly, clean and warm.

Reviewer:Angela D | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely one night stay- Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night as a stop over while doing a course. It was a lovely room and very well priced. Breakfast was perfect and a great set up for the day. The hosts were lovely and very helpful. Definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Robert C | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Relaxing stay, short but sweet.- Rating 4/5

Friendly quiet b n b. Nice breakfast. Clean and not far from the station but out the way enough for a peaceful stay.

Reviewer:Jill G | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


All good at Good Grubb Hotel- Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay even though it was a short time we would loved to have stayed longer !! Sandra &John made us very welcome room was very clean breakfast superb !! Nothing was too much trouble very friendly couple ! Definitely recommend !!

Reviewer:F | Sun 13th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


overnight stay and breakfast - Rating 5/5

everything first class could not have wished for more lovely friendly people. If I am down next year would not consider staying anywhere else

Reviewer:chris h | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely Place To Stay - Rating 5/5

This is the second time I have stayed at the Great Grubb B&B and can recommend it wholeheartedly. The rooms are spotless and comfortable as are the beds and have all the facilities any guest could require. If not available, the hosts Sandra and John could not be more accommodating and helpful. Beautifully cooked reakfast was served in a bright dining room but in summer guests could breakfast in their charming courtyard.It was their friendliness and kindness that brought me back a second time and I would stay there again if visiting the area again.

Reviewer:Monika J | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


First visit to the historic town of Totnes - Rating 5/5

Enjoyable 2 night stay in a comfortable room and our hosts were welcoming and made a great breakfast...easy walk into town

Reviewer:Gillian & Gordon F | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


One night accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay for one night. Great breakfast. Unfortunately had to rush to catch a bus. Within easy reach of the station. Very warm welcome from Sandra and John. I'm looking forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Michael H | Sun 22nd Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Warm homely welcome - Rating 4/5

Our welcome from John &Sandra was very warm and friendly making us feel quickly at home. John's good sense of humour and both his and Sandra's eagerness to help created a very pleasant atmosphere. A comfortably room, very good breakfasts;altogether a very good place to stay. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Bev H | Sat 21st Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely Grubb! - Rating 5/5

A warm, friendly welcome, cosy room with lots of lovely touches including a cafetière and proper coffee. I’d definitely recommend a stay and would definitely return. 12 out of 10!

Reviewer:Adele N | Tue 17th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely welcome from the owners when we arrived.Comfortable ensuite bedroom.Very nice breakfast.Decent sized car park, and a 10 minute walk into Totnes.

Reviewer:Tim S | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


1 night stay pre river dart 10km swim - Rating 5/5

Very nice, everything I needed and friendly hosts

Reviewer:Ben B | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Great value, great accommodation and hospitality- Rating 5/5

Great communication from the owners before and during my stay, comfortable room with creature comforts and en suite with a very good shower. The included breakfast was also amazing! I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this place to anyone

Reviewer:Paul B | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Great Grubb B&B, Totnes, Devon - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, friendly, accommodating;clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast;good parking, close to town centre

Reviewer:Gwen l | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 6 months ago


Nice place - Rating 5/5

Good location, very good service and breakfest.

Reviewer:Bengt J | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Bed and Breakfast as it should be! - Rating 5/5

A comfortable, good night's rest followed by a freshly cooked breakfast, to set us up for the day. What more could you ask for?

Reviewer:David G | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Highly recommended. Clean, comfortable and relaxed.- Rating 5/5

We knew we were in good hands when John greeted us at the door. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable and owners who care. Breakfast in the garden was a real treat. Very relaxed vibe and tasty breakfast. Will come again.

Reviewer:PERRY, E | Mon 26th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Mrs - Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for a lovely stay when I came to see my son and his wife and my grandchildren. You are so convenient for me when I visit as you are in the next street and so convenient too for walking into Totnes town centre. Comfortable, clean room, super friendly hosts and generous well cooked breakfast. What more could I ask!

Reviewer:Marion H | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Shory stay - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with our stay. Sandra and John were great. Lovely, clean room, lovely breakfast. Very accomodating.Would definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Tim G | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Happy one night stay- Rating 5/5

We both had a happy nights’ stay at the Great Grubb. Both Sandra and John very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day! We will be back..

Reviewer:Claire T | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


August 2019 stay at Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

Excellent hospitality, breakfasts and accommodationDave &Jan

Reviewer:David H | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Star item - Rating 5/5

Just to say thanks for your help and kindness and if there is a rating above 10/10 you are it.High on our list when next in the UK. Brian and Ann.

Reviewer:brian l | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Delighted Sheltering Cycle Tourers - Rating 5/5

Booking last minute to avoid a sweeping storm, we were unsure as we made our way into Totnes. However, the Great Grubb B&B absolutely blew us away. Beautiful rooms, friendly owners, great location, and a breakfast we will remember;we both highly recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone! We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Will T | Sat 10th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


The GREAT Great Grub - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay, excellent location for Totnes, exceptionally clean and comfortable. Delicious breakfast and super friendly and helpful staff! Wouldhighly recommend

Reviewer:Joanne W | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


This place is great- Rating 5/5

I can't recommend The Great Grubb enough, very friendly couple, totally clean, comfortable, proper bed, proper shower, tip top breakfast. ideal for Dartington and on into Dartmoor. Definitely stay again.

Reviewer:paul t | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 7 months ago


Wonderful stay in Totnes - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and hearty hosts! Everything was very clean and the breakfast wonderful.

Reviewer:Nigg C | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


A perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, welcoming, excellent breakfasts. 10-15 minutes walk from the station and just 5-10 mins walk to town. Perfect base for a walking holiday. Amazing hosts - highly recommended. Thank you!

Reviewer:Anne J | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Perfect - Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 7 nights.Everything was clean and very comfortable.Good amounts of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room and a decent hairdryer.Breakfasts were the best we've had anywhere. Sandra and John were perfect hosts and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Reviewer:Karen T | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


The Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely place to stay. Proprietors were friendly and informative.Facilities were thoughtful and additions that added to a comfortable stayAll very welcoming.

Reviewer:Shan M | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

My sister and I each had a double room with en suite bathroom, everything was very comfortable and immaculately maintained, and my room looked out on the lovely garden. Special mention for the breakfast, which was delicious. Our hosts were very friendly, and it is clear that they put a huge amount of care into their business. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Laura E | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


thanks - Rating 5/5

had a lovely stay with friendly hosts - will book again next year - good for parking and walking into town, also great grub!

Reviewer:ishbel a | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

We got a very warm welcome, tasty vegan food and the best night sleep ever. We will be recommending the Great Grubb B and B to everyone. The couple who run this are lovely. With sincere thanks for a wonderfulstay from Sarah and Faye xxx

Reviewer:Sarah L | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Wonderful stay, highly recommend it. - Rating 5/5

Wewere overwhelmed by the many facilites available to clients.The room was comfortable, particularly the bed.Lovely to sit out in the dedicated courtyard.The owners were so friendly, couldnt do enough for us.We will be back.

Reviewer:bernadette p | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Single female and dog - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable room which was conveniently located near the garden. Good breakfast in dining area with sunroom and terrace. Pleasant and friendly hosts too.

Reviewer:Fiona M | Sun 7th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


CMC Hampshire - Rating 5/5

Comfortable rooms. Superb patio and garden for sitting in. John and Sandra can offer lots of advice about where to go. Breakfast sets you up for the day.

Reviewer:| Sat 6th Jul 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent hosts, excellent accommodation and excellent breakfast.These people work hard to please their guests and we certainly appreciated it.Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Arthur J | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean room and very welcoming hosts.Only criticism was there were towels but no face cloths. Other than that no complaints.

Reviewer:Jackie H | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Great welcome - Rating 5/5

We were greeted by John who made us feel instantly at home offering us tea in the Great Grubb’s lovely garden.Our room was comfortable and we were very well looked after.The 10 minute walk into town is along a busy main road which is where the Great Grubb is located.Our room was on the ground floor and the traffic didn’t disturb us.

Reviewer:Rochelle W | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


The great Grubb B@ B - Rating 5/5

We were mad e very welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits.we had a very relaxing stay, room excellent and breakfast very good.woull highly recommend this place.

Reviewer:Brian W | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


A Pleasant Short Stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our one night stay which enabled us to look round Totnes and visit the South Devon Railway before moving on.

Reviewer:David W | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Weekend Away - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, great breakfast and really welcoming hosts.

Reviewer:Nicola R | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

hosts very good people, great time,great stay,loved it, will recommend to any one

Reviewer:terry b | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


A nice place to stay. - Rating 5/5

As above a nice place to stay, a lovely breakfast.Very handy for Totnes town centre, a 10 minute easy stroll. Handy area for surrounding places to see. John and Sarah are very nice people. Will be back soon.

Reviewer:Melvyn K | Sun 16th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Very welcoming hosts - Rating 5/5

John and Sandra were lovely hosts, accommodation was clean and light, driveway parking was safe, great breakfast too - thanks

Reviewer:Stuart N | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous and comfortable stay, John &Sandra were so friendly and helpful, delicious breakfast in lovely dining room overlooking the garden. Lots of lovely touches in the room. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Rebekkah A | Sat 1st Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Not to be faulted - Rating 5/5

The care and level of service are unmatched.

Reviewer:Richard S | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely Stay- Rating 5/5

Found the Great Grubb easily, parking right outside and a warm welcome from Sandra on arrival. A quick tour then shown to my room. Very clean room and bright. Everything I needed. Breakfast was yummy the following morning and lots to choose from. Really enjoyed my stay. Definitely stay again.

Reviewer:| Mon 13th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Great place, great hosts - Rating 5/5

Stayed there for 3 nights as a spring break, had an absolutely great time. Jon &Sandra are fantastic hosts, and John does a really mean breakfast. Would recommend, and will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Alan H | Thu 9th May 2019 | 10 months ago


Wonderful ! - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay, very welcoming , very clean, bright modern room with everything I needed, great breakfast, safe parking . Will be back !!

Reviewer:Richard M | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


My stay - 3 nights April 9th to 12th - Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts. Sandra and John couldn’t be more helpful explaining the local area. Good breakfast and cater for vegan and vegetarian guests as I was..Lovely garden and area to relax. All in all I had a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to go back there again.

Reviewer:Malcolm G | Sat 13th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Friend’s Wedding weekend- Rating 5/5

My friend and I stayed for two nights at the Great Grubb, our hosts could not have been more welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.The accommodation was really nice, the shower powerful! Breakfast was really good and plentiful. I can’t recommend enough.

Reviewer:Kate F | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely small B&B with a big welcome - Rating 5/5

Stayed for a weekend. The property was warm and spotlessly clean. The guests have use of the dining room, conservatory and patio. The hosts were very accommodating and provided tableware for guests bringing in takeaways.Good breakfast choice. Happy to recommend.

Reviewer:Mr Ray P | Mon 8th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


Great b&b - Rating 5/5

Stayed here many times, always a warm friendly welcome and great breakfast, top notch.

Reviewer:Alec L | Sun 7th Apr 2019 | 11 months ago


a great welcome awaits - Rating 5/5

everything was fine from the cheery welcome to the lift to the station on leaving. Had a lovely walk to a viewing point not far from the house. Nice conservatory and patio area to relax.

Reviewer:hugh g | Wed 3rd Apr 2019 | 12 months ago


Lovely hosts - Rating 5/5

Sandra and John were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. We will have no hesitation in booking in the future.

Reviewer:| Tue 2nd Apr 2019 | 12 months ago


My stay at Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

Very caring family ,great breakfast in beautiful conservatory, very pleasant stay

Reviewer:Geoffery P | Tue 26th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Wonderful overnight stay - Rating 5/5

I booked into the Great Grubb, and was immediately given a very warm welcome, by the owners. The off road parking was ideal for me, as I was travelling by car. The Great Grubb accommodation was very clean, comfortable and cosy, so I had a great nights sleep. I always pack my sleep mask, and ear plugs, as there is always the odd sound of people coming and going, doors closing etc, as you would expect from any hotel/b&b. The powerful shower was an excellent way to start to my day. The breakfast room is beautiful airy and bright, which extends into the conservatory/sun lounge, and out into the patio garden;very calm, relaxing and tranquil. There is a good selection of meal options. I had the full English breakfast, with juice to start, freshly made coffee, and toast. It was absolutely delicious, and it set me up for my long journey home.The train station is not to far away, and the centre of Totnes is only a short stretch of the legs away, or you could take the short drive into town and park in one of the many pay and display car parks, or metered parking bays.I would definitely stay here again, and have no reservations in recommending this beautiful B&B to all of my friends, relatives, and acquaintances. Many thanks again for a lovely relaxing stay.

Reviewer:George G | Tue 19th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


return visit- Rating 5/5

wonderful return visit for work reasons. Sandra and John are great hosts and they make you feel welcomed and that nothing is too much trouble.As a female travelling alone for work, it is nice to feel welcomed and safe.

Reviewer:Marion H | Sat 16th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay with friendly and informative hostsSuperb breakfast

Reviewer:Cat M | Wed 13th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Coozy place in Totnes!- Rating 5/5

The Great Grubb B&B is a coozy place perfect to stay whilst visiting totnes and the sorrounding. Very nice owners and amazing breakfast! I would absolutely suggest to stay there at least for a night!

Reviewer:DANIELA b | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Mature Couple - Rating 5/5

Great accommodation - excellent breakfasts - Sandra and John willing to go the extra mile to help with any requests -ideally situated .

Reviewer:Sheila B | Thu 31st Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Stayed here many times, always a warm welcome, very comfortable and great breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewer:Alec L | Mon 31st Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect- Rating 5/5

Welcome, check in, room, location, vegetarian breakfast - all 10/10

Reviewer:Andy W | Wed 19th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

Very hospitable, family feel with fresh and tasty breakfast. Thank you

Reviewer:Zoe H | Sun 16th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Best place to stay - Rating 5/5

Great people who looked after me, even if I missed breakfast again🤪. Next time I’ll make it and be up in time. Loverly place, so very clean and welcoming

Reviewer:joseph c | Mon 10th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic B and B - lovely room, very comfortable bed, brilliant breakfast and really welcoming hosts!

Reviewer:Francis W | Wed 21st Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place to stay in Totnes - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable B&B in walking distance of town. Friendly hosts and a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Jackie S | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


The Great Grubb is Great - Rating 5/5

Excellent location...a short walk into Totnes centre. Comfortable bed, hot shower great hosts and yummy breakfast. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Julie J | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Great breakfast, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Great Grubb - from the warm welcome to the tailor made cooked breakfast and super comfortable room everything was just perfect. I walked to the B&B from the station and it's also in a great location (though there's also plenty of parking) for easy access to town and countryside.

Reviewer:Briony P | Tue 30th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Great Grubb is an amazing stay, the owners are really nice and helpful - full recommendation!

Reviewer:Matthias B | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Grubb great people - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time at the Great Grubb. Sandra and John are perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble and an awesome breakfast to suit every taste. Ideal base for Totnes and surrounding area. You must go to Dartington Hall, especially the Gardens. Thank you guys!Hope the Gecko’s are behaving....

Reviewer:Steve G | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Review of Great Grubb B&B - Rating 5/5

As always, a wonderful stay at the Great Grubb B&B.John and Sandra could not be more welcoming.The B&B is well located, spotless, and serves a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Paul T | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Grubb review - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay very much - the room was comfortable, the facilities and breakfast all good. The location was perfect for my stay.

Reviewer:Shirley S | Sun 14th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay at the Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

The hospitality shown here was second to none.Sandra &John were stars and nothing was too much trouble.Had a lovely stay and the room #7 was excellent in all aspects.Great place to stay as we will again I am sure.Treat yourself and stay here when visiting Totnes..Chris &Nicky

Reviewer:christopher m | Sat 13th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Perfect Location - Rating 5/5

Totnes was a place we wanted to return to. Chose this B&B for its proximity to town centre. We arrived early just hoping to park the car but were made very welcome and able to check in. The room was very comfortable and well co-ordinated. Everything you needed was available. The breakfast wss excellent and the coffee was good and strong. Will definately return if in Totnes again.

Reviewer:Margaret B | Sun 23rd Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Outstanding Stay - Rating 5/5

From the warm welcome, through the well appointed room to the brilliant breakfast, given we are a regular B&B o/night stayer, this venue rated as one of the best we have stayed in. Had a great night's sleep and even the road didn't disturb as the double glazing did the job. Cannot recommend it enough and if/when in Totnes again, it will be our preferred choice

Reviewer:Matthew H | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent 2 Night Stay - Rating 5/5

Convenient location. Just a short (10 min) walk to theta end of Totnes. Really good cooked breakfast. Comfortable bed. Friendly welcome. Nothing else needed. All good

Reviewer:Nigel C | Mon 17th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

The welcome we received was great, room was very comfortable and clean, breakfast was very nice, good selection. We recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Maria W | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very clean, welcoming owners, very early breakfast, very helpful at breakfast.All very simple and good value

Reviewer:Jo D | Thu 30th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Good value B&B - Rating 5/5

Clean, well decorated, and very convenient for Totnes town centre (about 10 min walk). The breakfast was good, and the hosts extremely friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Gavin R | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable short stay. - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant and welcoming owners, delicious breakfast,very pretty courtyard to eat outside, very clean room, some noise from upstairs rooms did disturb us at times,other than that,we had an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Julie P | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A great stay - Rating 5/5

We loved it, thank you. All very comfortable, lovely breakfasts, and welcome cream tea on arrival.

Reviewer:Rachel M | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The great grub review - Rating 5/5

Location is great it’s only a five minute walk into town and fantastic hosts.Really friendly and also breakfast is great will definitely stay there again

Response

Many thanks Paul, Sandra and I enjoyed looking after you during your stay, and look forward to you coming back at some time in the futureKind regards John

Reviewer:Paul R | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Stay Monday 2nd July - Rating 5/5

From Carolyn Purves:We had a delightful stay at the Great Grubb, nice welcome, lovely rooms and a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Claudia R | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Stayed June 2018 - Rating 4/5

Excellent, very friendly B&B - recommended

Reviewer:David H | Thu 14th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Couldn\'t wish for more - Rating 5/5

This was the second stay and it was as flawless as the first. Rooms are immaculate, breakfast great and the hosts as good as you could wish for with expert local knowledge freely given.My 'go to' B&B in the area.

Reviewer:Simon D | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Nice little B&B - very friendly and nice breakfast!

Reviewer:Tim L | Sun 17th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Just what I needed! - Rating 5/5

Charming small B&B in ideal location (close to station and town centre) and good value for single traveller. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Miranda P | Wed 27th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable, Friendly and Convenient - Rating 5/5

I have stayed several times for work. Conveniently located in a quiet location and near to Totnes centre. Rooms are comfortable with everything you need &more, good wifi, easy parking, great hospitality, hassle-free and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Lucy P | Wed 27th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay at a well run B&B - Rating 5/5

Stayed for two nights, having visited before.Nice and clean.Enjoyable well cooked breakfast.Comfortable room and bed.Easy flat walk into Totnes itself, and very useful off road parking in their private car park.Very pleasant hosts.

Reviewer:Anne and Tim S | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


The Great Grupp B&B in Totnes - Rating 5/5

Alles bestens. Geringe Entfernung zur Stadtmitte (ca. 10 min zu Fuß). Eigener Parkplatz.

Reviewer:Hans V | Mon 11th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Bed & Breakfast - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my stay in the Great Grubb B&B in Totnes. Toby and Genya make their guests very welcome. The room was comfortable and spacious. It was great to have parking onsite and to be close enough to the town to walk to the shops &cafes. I was visiting relatives, so I didn't have the breakfast but other residents were certainly enjoying theirs and it smelt amazing.

Reviewer:Helen Logan W | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

I had a couple of days in Totnes over the weekend, and needed a hassle free place to stay. This was perfect. Very close enough to the town centre, while also out in the lovely countryside. I was surprised how quiet it was. The bed was very comfortable, and the hosts very friendly. Well worth the trip.

Reviewer:Rob W | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


great hospitality - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Great Grubb in order to take an elderly aunt in a nearby care home out on day trips. Our host went to a great deal of trouble to recommend attractions suitable for a wheelchair user especially on our first day when it was rainy. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast choice excellent

Reviewer:jean l | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Birthday treat for sister - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable and relaxed stay and lovely couple who run the establishment helpful and accommodating very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Judith R | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Birthday treat for sister - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable and relaxed stay and lovely couple who run the establishment helpful and accommodating very good breakfast.

Reviewer:Judith R | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming. Easy parking. Lovely breakfast. Less than 10 minutes walk to top of the town and restaurants. Nice room, a little cramped.

Reviewer:Aprile B | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


very positive - Rating 5/5

Very helpful and friendly owners, who made it possible for me to check-in early and helped with drying some clothes, clean, convenient location, good breakfast, room has everything that is necesary, including drinking water and coffee / tea. I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewer:Laura W | Sat 24th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect overnight stop - Rating 5/5

Welcoming and comfortable. Extra touches like ground coffee in the room set it apart from others.

Reviewer:Stephen B | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended \"The Great Grubb B&B\" - Rating 5/5

Very friendly. Convenient. Quiet. Comfortable.

Reviewer:Anthony L | Fri 12th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Comfortable rooms, great breakfast choice, caters for special diets, very organised B&B. Will use again.

Reviewer:Dr. Robert P | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Dart boat race - Rating 5/5

We are a group of guys who row at the annual head of the Dart river race, this is the second time we used this B&B;who are very flexible and accommodating and do great breakfasts.I do recommend.

Reviewer:Simon R | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Very Pleasant- Rating 5/5

Very comfortable B &B . We couldn't fault any part of our stay , lovely hosts who looked after us with a hearty breakfast . The room was clean and very comfortable.would recommend

Reviewer:Stephen L | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

A wonderful, friendly B&B within walking distance of Totnes. Spotlessly clean, good choice of breakfast catering for all needs;and warm, friendly, helpful hosts.

Reviewer:Elaine D | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


April 1st no fooling - Rating 5/5

Great weekend retreat.Owners so friendly and happy to help. Rooms beautifully clean, breakfast lovely. Although very early the dawn choruswas superb!!!

Reviewer:DEREK H | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean B and B. Welcoming hosts. Lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate M | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 3 years ago


Another excellent stay - Rating 5/5

This is definitely a five-star B&B.I could not fault it. Everything was excellent.Thank you!

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher S | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Great hospitality- Rating 5/5

We would definitely stay in this b&b again.Wonderful room, very clean and comfortable.Awesome breakfast and wonderful comeraderie with other guests.Just a short walk to the town center, shops and the castle.

Reviewer:Mary R | Thu 15th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Suberb B&B in Totnes - Rating 5/5

I can't speak highly enough of The Great Grubb B&B.It's spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly and welcoming.It's also quite good value.What I particularly liked was that there was no issue about me staying for one night in a single room on a Saturday - some B&B owners can barely conceal their contempt at such a request but not here!I was made to feel every bit as welcome as a couple staying for a week.I would have loved to stay for longer and am thinking of booking a longer stay there next year.The only comment I would make is that the room I had was in a part of the house with very little natural light (the house is situated on the side of a hill).The windows looked out onto (well maintained) passageways and a fire escape staircase.I know that some of the rooms at the B&B have lovely views and I'd have preferred a room with more natural light if I was staying longer (it was absolutely fine for one night).But that's just a small point.The bathroom had lovely modern fixtures and fittings and everything worked very efficiently although in rather a tight space!Overall a great weekend experience.The B&B is easy walking distance from the town and railway station - highly recommended!!

Reviewer:Martin R | Thu 8th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Suberb B&B in Totnes - Rating 5/5

I can't speak highly enough of The Great Grubb B&B.It's spotlessly clean and the owners are very friendly and welcoming.It's also quite good value.What I particularly liked was that there was no issue about me staying for one night in a single room on a Saturday - some B&B owners can barely conceal their contempt at such a request but not here!I was made to feel every bit as welcome as a couple staying for a week.I would have loved to stay for longer and am thinking of booking a longer stay there next year.The only comment I would make is that the room I had was in a part of the house with very little natural light (the house is situated on the side of a hill).The windows looked out onto (well maintained) passageways and a fire escape staircase.I know that some of the rooms at the B&B have lovely views and I'd have preferred a room with more natural light if I was staying longer (it was absolutely fine for one night).But that's just a small point.The bathroom had lovely modern fixtures and fittings and everything worked very efficiently although in rather a tight space!Overall a great weekend experience.The B&B is easy walking distance from the town and railway station - highly recommended!!

Reviewer:Martin R | Thu 8th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Great B&B, excellent location for Totnes centre - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, very cleancomfortable room,good number of electric sockets and hand lotion (thoughtful extras, i think!) excellent location for Totnes centre, good parking facilities,

Reviewer:JANE F | Tue 6th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent b+b - Rating 5/5

Friendly, hospitable, clean, delicious food, easy walk into town, quiet, relaxed and comfortable.

Reviewer:Morris H | Tue 29th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Satisfied customer - Rating 5/5

Very pleased with the quality and service.I'd happily stay here again.

Reviewer:David G | Tue 29th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Home from Home - Rating 5/5

Lovely B and B, comfortable and everything I needed for a 2 night stay. Good shower and wifi, friendly service with a good choice of breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pamela H | Tue 29th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Great accommodation, facilities, breakfast, parking;and friendly, helpful service.

Reviewer:Lucy P | Fri 4th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Totnes stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice place - comfortable room, warm, clean and quiet, with a lovely breakfast and very friendly welcome. Good value for money.

Reviewer:Dana F | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Value for money and friendly host. - Rating 5/5

Value for money and a friendly host.

Reviewer:Ann H | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A memorable stay - Rating 5/5

We had a delightful time staying.Genia amd Toby made us feel very welcome and were really helpful and friendly.They were able to fit us in for an extra day which made all the difference to our visit. The unexpected additions were very much appreciated! We will return!

Reviewer:Suzanne B | Thu 20th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

It was absolutely fine. The room was comfortable and spotless with a nice en-suite. Breakfast was good and the owners very nice. They were very accommodating as I had to arrive a bit earlier than usual for an occasion in the town which is a short walk away. Very useful as in Totnes it's not easy to find parking spaces.Excellent.

Reviewer:Geoffrey H | Sun 16th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

I had a great stay with the Great Grubb B&B.We arrived early and got our room to get ready for a wedding. Breakfast was amazing and the hosts were delightful and so friendly. I would recommend this B&B

Reviewer:Ms. SaritaS | Tue 4th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


One of the best in Totnes. - Rating 5/5

This is my third visit, first two,times as a single guest, this time stayed at the GREAT GRUBBwith the wife.As with my first couple of stays, this venue is 10/10 for everything, we had room number 7, a stand alone room separate from the main building, and it was an absolute delight to be in, very clean, warm &cozy, so well thought out, every "Want"was catered for, the owners are very friendly and proud of there accommodation and rightly so.In a nut-shell, this is very good accommodation, the breakfast is one of the best we have had, the truth is, if I did not like it, I would not be back, but I have been to stay 3 times, and will be back again because it is so good.

Reviewer:Mr. ALEC R | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Grubb B&B - Rating 5/5

As good as it gets for the purpose, surprisingly near the town centre on foot. Very helpful and friendly owners, superb bathroom. good free wifi. Will use again and recommend.

Reviewer:Mike B | Wed 28th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


My enjoyable stay. - Rating 5/5

Friendly, efficient sympathetic team, who were welcoming and produced a clean organised environment. The breakfasts were delicious and the eating area and hillside garden delightful.

Reviewer:Lorna T | Thu 22nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Grubb B & B- Rating 5/5

My wife and i stayed here for one night on our stay in Totnes this is one GREAT B&B i can highly recommend this place the room we had was what i presume was atone time a garage and is now an annex and what a fantastic room this is, it is en suite and on the ground floor so from car to room about 10 ft and the BREAKFAST well why else would they call it Great Grubb it is exactly what it says.A great place to stay in Totnes

Reviewer:John G | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


The Great Grubb B&B - Rating 5/5

A delightful stay, all beautifully equipped in colourful rooms on a steep hillisde.

Reviewer:Brian K | Sun 18th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent sleep over - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, owners very helpful in every respect, great full English breakfast, set us up for the day and even ground coffee in our room, that was a first.

Reviewer:Allan W | Thu 8th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Just Perfect - Rating 5/5

Tnis was mysecond visit to the B&B and it was as wonderful as fhe last time.Very welcoming and warm. Great breakfast andthe guys were happy to do this early as we had to be out earky each morning. I hope im able to stay here again soonThank you for a wonderful visit

Reviewer:Kirsty T | Mon 5th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


A home from home - Rating 5/5

Likely staying with a good friend, nothing was too much trouble.Added touches such as fresh milk and filtered coffee made the stay more special.

Reviewer:Mrs. Annette L | Sat 3rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Absolutely lovely - Rating 5/5

A wonderful, quiet and charming b&b. Friendly welcome, spotlessly clean room, and an unbelievable breakfast. Thank you!

Reviewer:Damian Le B | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Short but sweet stay - Rating 5/5

We chose Great Grubb mainly because we were looking for somewhere that took dogs. However due to a change of plan the dog stayed at home. We just stayed for one night. Our room was great and well suited for an accompanying dog. Good location for walking into Totnes and amiable hosts. We would happily recommend the Annex room .where we stayed.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris J | Wed 31st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for three nights as we were attending the Sea Change Festival. The room was lovely and comfortable, nice little touches such as the filtered coffee and a cafetia. The breakfast was lovely good quality ingredients and they were very accommodating of peoples requirements. There was everything there you could have wanted. The hosts were friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. All in all a wonderful little place.

Reviewer:Julie K | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


great place - Rating 5/5

very welcoming and comfortable.

Reviewer:Louie A | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

What a fabulous little find. Handy for Totnes town centre but far enough away to avoid the hurly burly. I was made welcome immediately even though I arrived before booking in time. Extremely obliging hosts who put on a great breakfast. I will definitely use this again

Reviewer:Jan D | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A super B&B in Totnes - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed this B&B. The room was cosy, nicely decorated, and clean. The shower room looked to be very new. The breakfast was super. Vegetarians were catered for. The hosts were nice and helpful, giving us ideas about what to do in the area. It has a parking area, and if you want to leave the car, it's a short walk into town. There was a nice garden to sit out in at the back. We had three nights there. We could easily have stayed longer!

Reviewer:Zosia M | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A great- Rating 5/5

An ideal B&B to see all the delights of South Devon. Our room was good with a lovely shower.The breakfast was excellent, especially the amazing bacon.

Reviewer:Margaret M | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Home from home- Rating 5/5

What a fantastic breakfast!A real treat.Very clean room, ideal for my quick stopover very friendly reception much needed after a nine hour drive. Feels like home.

Reviewer:Stephen R | Wed 17th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Survey - Rating 5/5

Our stay at this establishment was a wonderful experience. we were greeted with freindilness and professionalism and shown to our room and dining room. the room was spotless and comfortable and everything was quiet. Breakfast was good a choice of menu and served with cheerfulness. Nothing was rushed and I would recommend this place to anyone . I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to visit The Great Grubb again My best wishes to the friendly owners and staff.

Reviewer:Patricia Russell M | Sat 13th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Totnes B&B - Rating 5/5

Great hosts at this b&b, best we found in Totnes.Clean comfortable and nicely presented, free parking and easy walk to town.Lovely breakfast room with conservatory. Full breakfast was best ever, especially those sausages!! Would stay there again.

Reviewer:Suzanne & Peter K | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Reunion - Rating 5/5

This is a greatb and b clean and friendly

Reviewer:Yolande M | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent B&B !! - Rating 5/5

Only there for one night whilst down in Devon, but absolutely delighted with our stay. Lovely room, fantastic breakfast, very pleasant owners, and only a level 10 minute walk into Totnes.All in all, a most enjoyable stay, and we hope to return in the future.

Reviewer:Tim S | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


fab B&B - Rating 5/5

great experience;nothing to fault. perhaps slightly larger sausage.

Reviewer:Peter H | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much. Clean,well organized B+B. Very friendly and helpful couple running the place.Only 10 Min. walk to town, not having to drive into town was helpful. Thank you very much. We will be back again. M. Weiss

Reviewer:Michel W | Sun 26th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


One nightstay - Rating 5/5

On our arrival we were made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. The breakfast was excellent all freshly cooked and well presented. The b b was fully booked and all the guests seemed to be very happy with the service they received we would happily book a room here ag.ain

Reviewer:C | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay room 6 - Rating 5/5

Great find for us.Everything you could need for an overnight,it is a smallish room so ideal for a short stay.It is very well equipped and comfortable. Lots of nice touches like a cafetiere and sachet of coffee, fridge in dining room to store your own chiiled items, or get fresh milk from.Very friendly and accomodationg owners. Lovely breakfast room and conservatory with lovely outside space as well.Breakfast was delicious and they really could not be any more helpful in catering for your choice.They even suggest you could bring in an evening takeaway and enjoy in the dining room or garden.Highly recommended.Would definitely return.

Reviewer:BRIAN L | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Easy, relaxed and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Check in easy and helpful, secure space for bikes included. Friendly and informal hosts. Clean and well maintained accommodation decorated to a high standard plus a great breakfast. What's not to like!

Reviewer:Simon G | Tue 14th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


`great grubb - Rating 5/5

thanks for a tidy and friendly stay and for catering to my vegan appetite.

Reviewer:Dr. Elinor W | Sat 28th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Very good place to stay in Totnes. - Rating 5/5

This was my second visit toTHE GREAT GRUBB, and this was because I was so happy with my first visit, that when the need arose, I yet again stayed at this venue.Room was very clean &comfortable, the owners very friendly, the breakfast was superb, so in a nut shell for me it was 10/10 all through.I will without doubt, stay at the GREAT GRUBB again in the future.Very happy with my stay.

Reviewer:Mr. ALECR | Sun 22nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


True Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my rather brief stay, Service, food, in fact everything very good.Would certailnly return if in the area.Could well be for the Dartmouth Music Festival, 2017.Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Guthrie H | Mon 16th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay of one night with delicious breakfast particularly the bacon served in sunny conservatory.Quiet venue on outskirts of Totnes , a shortish (30 mins) walk from town Centre.

Reviewer:Janet P | Mon 16th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

I received a warm welcome at this B&B which is ideally situated to explore Totnes on foot.The garden was peaceful and the cooked breakfast was delicious!

Reviewer:Nimrat B | Sun 15th May 2016 | 3 years ago


All the stars - Rating 5/5

There are not enough stars available to give to mine hosts who were very caring when I suddenly fell ill during my stay. They were very considerate to say the least.The room was immaculate parking was good and the town within easy walking distance. Excellent for a one night stay or for a whole week.

Reviewer:Charles A | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Cruise Holiday.... launch and landing - Rating 5/5

-not only good value also great breakfasts and high standard of accommodation. Genia and Toby were able to cater for specific requirements to ease the start and finish of my week away on a Ship Cruise...10/10

Reviewer:Simon M | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent BnB - Rating 5/5

Really comfy with welcoming staff, perfect location and great grub!

Reviewer:Hannah S | Fri 6th May 2016 | 3 years ago


The Great Grubb B&B - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable and clean B&B with a warm welcome. The bed was very comfortable. There was a very good choice of breakfasts available. I chose poached egg, toast, mushrooms and sautéed potatoes and all were perfectly cooked. Some of the breakfast tables were in a very light conservatory area which was very pleasant. The blue stand-by light on the TV in the bedroom seemed OK when I went to bed but seemed very bright and very blue when I woke at 1am. However I was able to switch it off at the wall so it didn't trouble me after that.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael J | Wed 4th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice!! - Rating 5/5

Really nice stay, everything as it should have been and will definetly be back

Reviewer:Nick H | Thu 21st Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


First time in Totnes - Rating 5/5

Felt very comfortable and as we had travelled in bad weather moving our son,daughter in-law and baby grandson from London to Totnes in extreme downpour we where in dire need of a good rest.Breakfast following morning was very welcome and we where very well looked after. It set us up for the day.As we where very happy we have already booked another stay n the summer.Thank you

Reviewer:Ulla C H | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


comfortable relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

Great food, relaxing atmosphere, room had everything I needed and more.

Reviewer:Jessica A | Thu 14th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

We thought that the Great Grubb was a lovely place to stay. Genia and Toby made us feel so welcome. They were very helpful and we felt very relaxed during our stay. It definitely lives up to its name, as the food was brilliant. Best ingredients, all cooked well. We will definitely be recommending the Great Grubb to friends and family. I don't think that the photos on your website do it justice.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine B | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


A great B&B!- Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Great Grubb a few times and have always had a good experience. A warm welcome comfortable tastefully decorated very clean rooms, a very good breakfast with a wide choice, excellent value for money.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert J | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Lovely ....recomended

Reviewer:Mark G | Thu 10th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Our third visit and would come again.

Reviewer:Helen G | Tue 8th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Can\'t fault the place - Rating 5/5

Second stay at The Great Grub, in the last 6 months. Comfy bed and great Breakfast. 5 stars awarded

Reviewer:David C | Mon 11th Jan 2016 | 4 years ago


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

As always a friendly welcome, spotless bedroom and en suite and a great breakfast.Thank you!

Reviewer:Susan R | Wed 23rd Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

I booked this B&B for three nights for my parents who were visiting for a long weekend. They thoroughly enjoyed their stay;the beds were comfortable, the breakfast good, and the staff helpful. As this happened to be a quiet weekend, the staff put my parents in a larger room than the one originally booked, a gesture well-appreciated.

Reviewer:Mr. Leon V | Tue 15th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Confortable b&b - Rating 5/5

great breakfast, quiet place but in walking distance to town, very nice owners, recomendable!

Reviewer:Gisela R | Sun 13th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


It\'s in the name.- Rating 5/5

Really nice B&B feels very private and quiet. We were going to a family wedding in totnes and it was close, easy to find, comfortable, easy parking, easy to get in and out, nice clean decor, comfortable beds, friendly owners, relaxed atmosphere, and the breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the owners were happy to accommodate our dietary quirks. Would recommend and would stay again.

Reviewer:Angharhad O | Sun 8th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely clean and friendly - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night whilst on business in Totnes. Found the hostsvery friendly and the b and b spotlesy clean. Breakfast was fantastic.

Reviewer:Mike F | Thu 5th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely, Peaceful, Restful, Friendly, and Clean! - Rating 5/5

My husband and I loved our stay at the The Great Grubb B&B. They proprietors were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts served were wonderful, and they even accommodated our various special dietary needs well above and beyond the call of duty. We loved having tea (and breakfasts) in the conservatory (sun room) set in the midst of their lovely garden.It was an easy walk into town as well as to the nearby arboretum and surrounding neighbourboods. In fact, Follaton Estates and Dartington Gardens were in walking distance as well! We plan on returning to Totnes many times in the coming years and definitely plan on returning to the GGB&B. They have earned our loyalty.

Reviewer:Jeanie W | Sat 31st Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. All in all a very pleasant stay, and would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony M | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Brilliant little B&B - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome from the owner.cosy rooms with well maintained en suite bathroom. Decent WIFI coverage. Great breakfast with a varied selection on offer. A friendly and Environmentally conscious b&b. Top marks!

Reviewer:Nicholas J | Tue 15th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


My stay at the Great Grub - Rating 5/5

On arrival i was welcomed in and shown to my room, the room was small but was very clean and quiet. There was everything i needed in the room for my stay. Breakfast was cooked well with extras on the side if i wanted. The host was very polite and helpful for information on the local area, i enjoyed myself at the Great Grub and would stay there again.

Reviewer:Thomas P | Tue 8th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


stay at Great Grubb B&B 8th August -13th August- Rating 5/5

I stayed at The Great Grubb on the dates shown . The room was very clean, breakfast was excellent and the hosts were welcoming and very friendly.I will be recommending this B&B to my friends

Reviewer:Mr. Chas Bell| Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


August bank holiday - Rating 5/5

Great stay, room lovely, very clean, good breakfast &handy for walk into Totnes.

Reviewer:Jo O | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Bank Holiday Weekend - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean B&B with neat decor, hair dryer and TV with big comfy bed. Very helpful and friendly owner who cooks a great brekkie.Very easy to get to, would definitely reccommend, especially to anyone attending a Wedding at Kingston Estate, taxi was only £15 to bring us back after party's to 1am. Thumbs up!

Reviewer:Naomi C | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Very accommodating - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to stay in a home from home. They were great hosts and were very accommodating to our incredibly early starts, getting up and sorting breakfast for us! We will be back next year

Reviewer:Marie W | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


great grubb b&b - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome, spotlessly clean and truly great grub. Would highly recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alex R | Wed 12th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Friendly welcome and comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

A very friendly welcome from mine host, found me somewhere to store my cycle overnight, booked me a table at the local restaurant (rumours - excellent) and then let me hang around for an extra hour until the rain stopped the next morning. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Andrew H | Tue 11th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Very friendly and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Very friendly people, comfortable room, all very clean and fresh. Great breakfast and the off road parking was also,good.

Reviewer:Brian H | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Booked direct after reading the good revues and we were not disappointed.Very clean, comfy, well appt rooms, short 8-9 min walk to town, breakfast locally sourced and very tasty.Would recommend and stay again

Reviewer:Dave H | Sat 8th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


A very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome. Everything was clean. Nice to have off-road parking. An easy walk into Totnes. Good and flexible breakfast and OK to bring back food and eat it in dining room or garden.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul T | Fri 7th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Good Totnes Band B - Rating 5/5

Tanks for a nice stay. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Great location with parking!

Reviewer:Carol O | Thu 6th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Weekend in Totnes - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, clean, friendly and walking distance from the town means you dont have to keep going out in the car.

Reviewer:Amanda S | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


The Great Grubb B and B - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a very restful short break here. Comfortable, well appointed room, excellent breakfast, friendly, helpful owners.

Reviewer:Terry L | Wed 10th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Very-very nice place to stay. - Rating 5/5

I arrived at The Great Grubb for my two night stay a little nervous at first, as I was traveling alone on this occasion.I need not have been nervous at all, all staff are very friendly, the place was very-very clean, the room was 10/10 for me, and the breakfast again 10/10.Overall, I very much enjoyed my stay at The Great Grubb, and will 101% be going back there on my next solo visit to Totnes.To all staff at The Great Grubb, you are doing a great job.Regards.Alec "R".

Reviewer:Mr. Alec R | Sun 7th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at The Great Grubb in Totnes. Good location with car parking. Only 10 minutes walk into Totnes.

Reviewer:Mr. & Mrs. New| Sun 31st May 2015 | 4 years ago


Friendly, comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Delicious breakfast with plenty of options and friendly hosts. Comfortable, clean room, in a quiet location.Happy to recommend.

Reviewer:Darren A | Thu 28th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Wedding Weekend - Rating 5/5

Stayed in the area for a friends wedding. Really accommodating people, very friendly, reasonably priced. Very nice garden area for breakfast.Would stay again and definitely recommend!

Reviewer:Mr. Shane N | Tue 26th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Great time at the Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our 3 night stay, thanks Toby &Gania for your hospitality, lovely room and good breakfasts - especially my vegetarian gluten free ones!

Reviewer:Lois D | Tue 12th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Grubb Stay - Rating 5/5

We arrived at the Great Grubb on a very wet, cold evening and were greeted warmly by the owner. Our room was cozy and clean andperfectly adequate for our overnight stay with the added bonus of an en suite bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was warm. Breakfast was tasty and generous. We would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Michael W | Mon 4th May 2015 | 4 years ago


A real home away from home - Rating 5/5

My sister and I stayed there for two weeks and we felt really welcome and well looked after during the whole period. The hosts are extremely kind, the room - cosy, spacious and with a great view out of the window. The full English breakfast was delicious. Everything is within easy walking distance - the castle, Dartington Hall, the railway and coach stations, the market and Fore street. We enjoyed every single minute of our stay. I would highly recommend this b&b to anyone staying in Totnes for business or leisure.

Reviewer:Mrs. Iliana T | Sun 26th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Nice, friendly B&B - Rating 5/5

Friendly hosts, clean comfortable room, nice shower. Good breakfast, including fresh cut up fruit. Very nice B&B.

Reviewer:Julie M | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Great find - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B - easy walking distance of the town. Everyone so friendly and helpful without being overbearing. All spotless. Fantastic breakfast, great shower and bed - what more could you want?

Reviewer:Susan R | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


We keep coming back. - Rating 5/5

This is our favourite place to stay in Totnes. A very well run establishment with superb breakfasts and friendly hosts. Easy to park at and walk into town.

Reviewer:Katy G | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Convenient location, great breakfast, very accommodating and friendly, comfortable bed.Everything you could want in a B&B.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elizabeth E | Thu 19th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Second stay - Rating 5/5

Another great visit. Well looked after and well fed.Many thanks.Richard

Reviewer:Mr. Richard V | Mon 9th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


warm welcome - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and pleasant rooms. Lovely breakfast with locally produced foods.

Reviewer:Francis M | Sun 8th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Just about perfect - Rating 5/5

You could not ask for more - quiet room, spotlessly clean, good shower, plenty of parking, and a great breakfast!All at a great price too.

Reviewer:James H | Mon 2nd Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Brilliant Service - Rating 5/5

Very polite and friendly. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Rachel S | Mon 26th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Just Right - Rating 5/5

Good position, room and breakfast.Couldn't wish for anything more.

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond B | Wed 7th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Excellent B&B.Room as high class as a 4-star hotel.Owners very obliging

Reviewer:Christopher S | Sun 21st Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Short Stay - Rating 5/5

Comfy and warm on a cold night. Peaceful sleep then a good breakfast in the morning. Everything you want in a B&B.

Reviewer:Michael P | Mon 15th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent Totnes B and B - Rating 5/5

An excellent and friendly B and B. The room is comfy, warm and very well stocked with all you need. The breakfast is lovely - always nice fresh fruit salad and a wide range of cooked food. The lounge has lots of useful books about the area. Car parking and a short walk into town makes it a perfect location.

Reviewer:Ms. Carol O | Fri 12th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Value for money - Rating 5/5

Nice clean room, pleasant hosts and good breakfast ideal for overnight stay. 5 minute walk from the centre. Will definitely go back if in that area.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary C | Mon 8th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Warm and comfortable - Rating 5/5

A lovely warm welcome greeted me when I arrived. The room was comfortable, the bathroom large and well supplied with all you need. The cheerful breakfast room offered fresh fruit salad, cereals and a cooked breakfast with excellent coffee. The walk to the top of the main street only took 10 minutes, so it's close to everything. I would happily stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kristina T | Wed 26th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely B&B- Rating 5/5

A very comfortable B&B within easy walking distance of Totnes centre. The room had everything we required and a particularly large and comfortable bed. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:Nanette N | Sun 23rd Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay thanks. Comfy room, nice ensuite bathroom with a bath and the breakfast was excellent. A good location with a nice walk into town and plenty of parking. Thanks and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Ms. Carol O | Tue 14th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

We spent just one night at The Great Grubb, but it was lovely. The bedroom was really big and clean, as well as beautiful. We had an amazing cooked breakfast as well, and apparently products are locally sourced. The owner is very kind, she even gave us information on Totnes as it was our first visit. I would recommend it without any doubt!

Reviewer:Ms. Lorena Boquete V | Sun 12th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


One nights stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent B &B plus somewhere to park your car.

Response

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed staying with us, hope to see you again soon.Best wishes

Reviewer:Mr. Geoff W | Fri 12th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


My stay on 5 and 6 Sept - Rating 5/5

I stayed on my own on Friday and was joined at GG on Saturday for Totnes LGBTI Pride.This was a wonderful choice.Charming hosts-considerate and hospitable.Clean and comfortable accommodation with all you need at hand.Loads of choices at breakfast time and delicious food.A busy and popular venue and one can see why.The owners extend a great welcome to a diverse range of clients and were very helpful.Thank you for a great stay. The location was perfect.I would recommend this establishment highly to those considering a trip to the Totnes area.

Response

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to give us a good review, it is really appreciated.Kind regards

Reviewer:Ms. Hazel J | Tue 9th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


3 night stay - Rating 5/5

Great location, great accommodation, great breakfast and best of all great hosts. Thanks Shirley &Darrell

Response

Thank you Richard for giving us a great review, hope to see you again.Kind regards Shirley and Darrell

Reviewer:Mr. Richard V | Sun 24th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Great Grubb many times - can't fault the staff or the place. Ideal for exploring Devon and surrounding beaches. Walking distance to town and set in a quiet location.

Response

Thank you Alex for giving us a great review. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes Shirley & Darrell.

Reviewer:Ms. Alexandra W | Thu 21st Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Me and my dad enjoyed our 1 night stay very much. The service was friendly and efficient and hosts were very attentive to our needs. Room was comfortable, clean and nice and quiet. The breakfast was delicious with generous portions and was lovely to sit in the sunny conservatory to eat.

Response

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes Shirley and Darrell.

Reviewer:L T | Wed 20th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


The Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable very good kitchen and a genuine warm hospitality. Would thoroughly recommend it

Response

Thank you very much Peterfor your kind review .I do hope you found your glasses, we have searched the room but no sign!Kind regards Shirley and Darrell

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Norman| Tue 12th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Stay at Great Grubb - Rating 5/5

Great B &B with super friendly staff. Walking distance into town and located in a quiet area. Highly recommend.

Response

Thank you Alex for you kind review look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewer:Miss. Alexandra W | Sat 5th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Great B&B in Totnes - Rating 5/5

If you're looking for a nice B&B in Totnes in reasonable price I can recommend The Great Grubb with all my heart. Great breakfasts, room s are clean and tidy, fantastic home - like atmosphere, good location.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Przemyslaw K | Thu 29th May 2014 | 5 years ago


as said on tin - Rating 5/5

Welcoming, cozy and handy for Totnes.Very helpful.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments, it is great to have good feedback.

Reviewer:Dr. Mark S | Mon 19th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Great Hospitality - Rating 5/5

We are two couples in our 40's staying in Totnes to see a band. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Very comfortable bed, nice toiletries, lovely breakfast and wonderful hospitality - highly recommended will definitely stay again.

Response

Dear Jason,Thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated.We look forward to seeing you again.Kind RegardsShirley and Darrell

Reviewer:Mr. Jason B | Sat 26th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Contact

The Great Grubb B&B
Fallowfields
Plymouth Road
Totnes
Devon
TQ9 5LX

01803 849071
Fax: 01803 849071
E-Mail

Our Facilities

  • Pet Friendly
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Family Rooms
  • Wifi
  • Vegetarian
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays